Multiple Citizenships

Discuss and talk about any general topic.
Tsar
Elite Upper Class Poster

Multiple Citizenships

Post by Tsar »

I had a question relating to multiple citizenship and names. Assuming a person has citizenship with two or three different countries. Can the person have a different legal name in each country if they wanted to do that? Such as they change their name in one country but not the one of the others or all of the others? I don't think such a practice would be illegal or banned.
djfourmoney
Elite Upper Class Poster

Post by djfourmoney »

Why would you want to change your name for different countries????????

Not sure why you would want to complicate your life more than it needs to be.

What is your goal for multiple citizenship? As I have said before, the majority of people only need residency to take advantage of most benefits.
ladislav
Elite Upper Class Poster

Post by ladislav »

You know, I am not a lawyer but I think it shouldn't be against the law. Look at all the Chinese in the US and they all have English first names here, while in China, it's something else.
Depends on a country. If I lived in a Slavic country, I would not want to display some outlandish name. In some countries a name change is required to be a citizen.
What is your goal for multiple citizenship? As I have said before, the majority of people only need residency to take advantage of most benefits.
A citizen cannot be deported easily for one. And he can own property.
A brain is a terrible thing to wash!
djfourmoney
Elite Upper Class Poster

Post by djfourmoney »

ladislav wrote:You know, I am not a lawyer but I think it shouldn't be against the law. Look at all the Chinese in the US and they all have English first names here, while in China, it's something else.
Depends on a country. If I lived in a Slavic country, I would not want to display some outlandish name. In some countries a name change is required to be a citizen.