Join John Adams, world renowned Intl Matchmaker, Thurs nights 8:30 EST for Live Webcasts with FREE Prizes!
And check out Five Reasons why you should attend a FREE Live AFA Seminar! See locations and details.

Scam free! Check out Christian Filipina - Meet Asian women with Christian values! Members screened.
Exclusive book offer! 75% off! How to Meet, Date and Marry Your Filipina Wife

View Active Topics       Latest 100 Topics       View Your Posts       FAQ Topics       Switch to Mobile

Question about dialects - especially for you UKers

Discuss and talk about any general topic.

Moderators: jamesbond, fschmidt

Question about dialects - especially for you UKers

Postby adam917 » Thu Mar 26, 2009 7:46 am

I believe I have become obsessed with your dialect of English and would like to know if it makes sense for me to continue trying to complete convert to using that form of English. Since 2001, I have altered my spellings and grammar (I am still learning) to reflect what is common practise in the UK and the rest of the Commonwealth of Nations, which is quite tricky considering I was raised in the US (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) and still live there.

I have also adopted an RP accent and went 3 full years of university as well as a job I had for a summer before that speaking in that form. I seem to have gotten so good at it that some words naturally come out as RP now and not 'Philly', like the names Paul van Dyk and Armin van Buuren.

As to how I am learning this, I just read Wikipedia's pages on differences as well as the many other sites on-line that talk about what seems like thousands of differences (so many that I think if we never had the Internet, the US & UK would have their own unique languages by 2100 or so). As for speech, I get that from various radio broadcasts of some of my favourite music and some programmes I watch from time to time.