Falcon's new Thai family

Post your trip reports, travel experiences, and updates abroad. Or your expat story if you already live overseas. Note: To post photos and images, insert the image URL between the tags Image after uploading them to a third party site.
Falcon
Experienced Poster

Falcon's new Thai family

Post by Falcon »

Short version

I've been a student in Chiang Mai, Thailand for about 1 year now.
I am 25 and my girlfriend is 40. We have known each other since the start of this year, and met as neighbors. We speak only Thai to each other.

I am now living in with her and her daughter (age 6). The daughter loves me a lot and is very attached to me. She always calls me "Baba" (the Chinese word for "Dad").

We feel like a happy, stable family now. I've basically achieved my Happier Abroad goal now. :)

====================================================================

Long version

To introduce myself to those of you who don't know me yet, I am a Taiwanese American who was born in the California Bay Area and have a very similar background to Winston's. I am 25 at the moment. Having lived in Thailand for about 1 year, I am now very fluent in Thai; being able to speak Chinese helped a lot. I've been posting on HA for quite a few years now.

So I'm finally back after a long hiatus. I am currently a graduate student at a local university in Chiang Mai, Thailand, and am also in a stable relationship with a middle-class Thai woman who is 15 years older than myself. And yes, I know this might raise a few eyebrows. :D

This is not a stereotypical Thai-farang [white foreigner] relationship where the foreign man is typically 20-30 years older than his girlfriend or wife (most commonly the man would be 45-75, while the woman would be 25-40). I also blend in physically with Thais and usually get spoken to in Thai.

Intro
- She is 40. I'm 25.