How should I get myself ready to teach English?

Discuss working and making a living overseas, starting a business, or studying abroad.
rudder
Junior Poster

How should I get myself ready to teach English?

Post by rudder »

Let me preface by giving a little background info which may influence my ability to land a teaching job:
-Bachelors Degree - General Studies with two minors, each in a foreign language
-Associates Degree in Science (probably irrelevant)
-Tutored Spanish to College Students while I attended college
-I'm a published author of a non-fiction book
-Took a career/personality test at the local community college and it said I should be a teacher.

I was digging through my diplomas and other important stuff in order to locate my TEFL certificate from the community college class that I took a few summers ago. It turns out that the certificate is actually just a Skills Competency Award in Introduction to Teaching English as a Foreign Language.

I had lost this certificate for the longest time, so two years ago I went back to the community college and requested they print another one. The second one they printed just says, "This is to certify that (my name) has successfully completed coursework for Teaching English as a Foreign Language."

WTF!? What good is that? Seriously, what can I do with that?! Here I was the whole time thinking that I had a TEFL certificate, when in actuality it is just some sort of introductory thing?!

Also, although English is my native language, I feel like I lack the confidence to be able to teach it. For instance, if a student asked me a question about grammar my explanation could very well be, "I don't know. That's just the way it is."

Is there something I can accomplish in the next six months (preferably free of charge) that would both increase my chances of landing an English teaching job, and my confidence to be able to actually teach well?