Freelance SEO writing, my story...

Discuss working and making a living overseas, starting a business, or studying abroad.
GenYguy
Freshman Poster

Freelance SEO writing, my story...

Post by GenYguy »

Sorry guys, but I'm going to have to delete all my posts on this thread. I shared a lot of the advice of my mentor publicly in this thread, and he would have preferred I did not do this. Out of respect for him, that is why this thread is now officially dead. Maybe soon I will make another thread of my OWN experiences and lessons. I made freelance writing work for me. I've been doing it for over 3 years now (it's Feb 2017 now and my original post was on October 1 2013) and have been living in the Philippines most of those 3 years.

My story was about starting from practically nothing, to living the same kind of dream that I and many others on this forum have (working online and living abroad), and some of us are actually living the dream. After I read all of my own posts over 3 years later, I can't believe how far I've come.
Last edited by GenYguy on February 13th, 2017, 6:14 am, edited 3 times in total.
zboy1
Elite Upper Class Poster

Post by zboy1 »

Forget about teaching in Asia now that most countries there are starting to crack-down on fraudulent degrees. You need to have at least a bachelors degree and a TESOL/TEFL/CELTA certificate in most countries in Asia, now...that is, if you want work legally. Of course, you could try to do what Magnum is doing and obtain get a fake degree, or work illegally, but there's always a risk in doing that and getting caught.

If I were you, I would at least try to get an Associates degree and a online TESOL certificate before trying to come to Asia to teach English. And, remember, it's not an easy job to do--and it is something that not everyone is going to be good at! Even for someone as academically qualified like me--I'm having some difficulties on the job, at times.