A problem with my Filipina....

Ask questions and get advice. Disclaimer: Any advice you take here is at your own risk. We are not liable for any consequences you might incur from following advice here. Note: Before posting your question, do a search for it in the Google Search box at the top to see if it's been addressed.
DaRick
Freshman Poster

A problem with my Filipina....

Post by DaRick »

Guys,

I've been ruminating over what to do with regards to my Filipina.

She is in serious financial trouble; the daughter of a widow and having a 13 year old step-sister to boot (her father is nowhere to be seen). Now she is in the position where she cannot even pay her electricity bills (she will not let her mother work because of recent back problems).

The problem is, whilst I can support her emotionally, I cannot support her financially - not yet. I'm still studying full-time and will not be able to support her properly for at least six months.

It's become all too obvious to me that she needs a provider to love. In a way, me being in a relationship with her has caused her current problems, because I cannot support her very much financially yet. So I concluded that it was best to let her go. I do not feel great about it - in fact, I feel terrible - but I care about her very much. Sitting on my hands while she struggles without any outside help would be selfish on my part.

She was (understandably) hurt about it, inferring that I was a liar who thought she was a gold-digger (not true; I never thought that). What I wrote in blue:

"Joy,

I want to start by saying that I do not blame you personally for your current problems or for my decision. You are a great girl who can make any man very happy. You're pretty, you're intelligent (you have a degree and can speak several languages) and you're the most unselfish girl I have ever met.