American Expats, Do You File Your Taxes Every Year?

Ask questions and get advice. Disclaimer: Any advice you take here is at your own risk. We are not liable for any consequences you might incur from following advice here. Note: Before posting your question, do a search for it in the Google Search box at the top to see if it's been addressed.
Everdred
Freshman Poster

American Expats, Do You File Your Taxes Every Year?

Post by Everdred »

I have a a few questions for all of you Americans living abroad out there. First, do you any of you file your annual taxes concerning the income you make while living overseas? I've been in living in Asia over four years now, and I've never filed my taxes during this four year period. I'm aware that Americans earning under $97,600 USD annually don't get taxed on their overseas income, however, we're still theoretically supposed to file each year. I can assure you that my annual income is well below that mark (I'm an English teacher after all), yet I've still never filed. And in these four years, I've only met one other American who claims he actually files annually. Many of the other Americans I've asked didn't even know what the hell I was talking about.

Second, if I want to file my taxes from right here in Bangkok, what's the simplest way to go about doing that? I'd prefer not getting any of my family or friends back in the United States involved. If absolutely necessary, I could ask one of them for help, but obviously that isn't ideal. Is there any way I could it online with minimal costs and headaches involved?

Third, what kind of consequences am I facing for never reporting my annual overseas income? Would not filing all these years come back to bite me in the ass if I were to return to live/work in the United States in the future? Have any of you had any personal experiences or know anyone who's gotten into trouble for not filing every year? Surely the consequences wouldn't be that dire...right?