Considering going abroad...advice?

Ask questions and get advice. Disclaimer: Any advice you take here is at your own risk. We are not liable for any consequences you might incur from following advice here. Note: Before posting your question, do a search for it in the Google Search box at the top to see if it's been addressed.
FAD2015
Freshman Poster

Considering going abroad...advice?

Post by FAD2015 »

My background:

I am 29 years old. Currently , I have some money saved up (little over $150k), and have passive income stream, although it isn't nearly big enough to kick back and enjoy a comfortable retirement in the US. My day job is in finance IT project management, so I am somewhat geographically constrained, but I started off as a heads-down coder, which can be done anywhere.

I want to go abroad. All I really care about is working out, reading history books, and painting. Occasionally, sex is nice, too. Everyone in America is obsessed with the corporate rat race.

Now, one difference from the main thrust of this forum, I do not care about women. I am gay. However, I feel that people who post here understand why a cubicle suit and tie, 9 to 5 job is bullshit. Everyone in America is either a hick or a Jew...cultureless proles or grasping strivers.

However, I have NEVER been out of the country, so..my plan is to take a long vacation to Mexico and think seriously about going to live south of the border.

I am considering Mexico for several reasons:

Wherever I go, steroids need to be legal, as they are in Mexico. I am tired of having to sneak around and act like a criminal because I take some chemicals.

I have a very basic grasp of Spanish.

I cannot stand cold weather. I am currently living in the Northeast. Enough said!

There are phenotypically white Hispanics there -- I am only attracted to other whites.

My questions: