Why I want to go abroad

What's your story? Discussions your reasons for going abroad.
Slick
Freshman Poster

Why I want to go abroad

Post by Slick »

It's very difficult to get a job in the U.S. even if you have a degree from Harvard and 20 years of work experience. Now, the average person in the U.S. spends almost a year unemployed. So that means we have a bunch of people graduating from high school and/or college and entering in this unemployment/underemployment market.

I graduated high school around 2009/2010 when the economy was the worst. I had a very hard time getting a job and strongly considered joining the U.S. military. Whenever I apply for jobs, I wait weeks, sometimes months to get a simple "You did not get the job". Sometimes after I apply, I wait after a few months and my application would expire and I'd have to reapply. I see many job postings but it says "Must have a college degree" "Must have X years of work experience". If I even try to apply for those jobs, my application would end up in the wastebasket and those who are doing the hiring would keep blowing me off. This is not right, most people are desperate for a paycheck and they can't be toyed around like this. As time went on, I was dam lucky to get minimum wage jobs. Those minimum wage jobs were unfulfilling and exhausting.