Introduction and Some Questions

Introduce yourself here and let us know who you are.
Forum rules
Welcome. If you are new here, please read the Forum Rules.
bw220
Freshman Poster

Introduction and Some Questions

Post by bw220 »

Hi everyone! I'm new to the forum and I thought it'd be good to post here both visiting the other parts of the forum. I'm a 21-year student in DC, about to graduate with a B.A. in History in December. After graduation I've always wanted to live abroad, hopefully teaching English. I've been tutoring ESOL for the foreign graduate students at my University, so I do have a little bit of experience. I had a few questions for you guys, especially for anyone who has gone the teaching English route.

First of all I wanted to ask about TEFL certification. I've looked into taking a course this summer, and although they're pricy I'm considering doing one. The one I'm considering is an actual class, not just an online course. Did all the teachers on here take one? I've heard you don't always need them, and that it is more dependent on the country, but I thought being younger I should probably play it safe.

My second question had to do with recommendations as far as countries go. I speak a moderate amount of Spanish so I've considered C.A. or S.A., but I've also heard amazing things about SEA. I'm looking for somewhere with a nice climate, fun girls, and somewhere slightly off the beaten path as far as tourism. By off the beaten path I just mine I don't think I'd want to be teaching in Bangkok or anything.

My mom's friend offered me a job at a school in the Philippines that he runs, but it's in a rural area outside of Silay City and I'm nervous there wouldn't be a lot of action around there. Right now I'm leaning towards the Vietnam, everything from its girls, its location, and its culture sounds amazing.