Italian citizenship via heritage

Discuss international visas, immigration and citizenship issues.
WakingUp
Freshman Poster

Italian citizenship via heritage

Post by WakingUp »

I have read in several places on the web that Italy grants citizenship based on heritage. Has anyone pursued this route to citizenship? If so, what was it like? Any tips / advice?

Meet Loads of Foreign Women in Person! Join Our Happier Abroad ROMANCE TOURS to Many Overseas Countries!

Meet Foreign Women Now! Post your FREE profile on Happier Abroad Personals and start receiving messages from gorgeous Foreign Women today!

zacb
Experienced Poster

Post by zacb »

Well, I am no expert on Italy, but when I looked into the option (Ireland), I believe that it was back to the grandparents you could claim. Try checking sovereignman.com if you have not, and look into books by Grandpa. PM me for more details on the later.
The Daily Agorist, Learn to Live Independent of the System! http://www.theagoristreview.blogspot.com
Wolfeye
Experienced Poster

Post by Wolfeye »

Been looking into that, myself. It seems that if you can trace it back up to your great-father, you can get in & there's some kind of cut-off date for women. Meaning that if you get the heritage through a woman, it's got to be from a certain year onward to get citizenship. Not sure what everything is about citizenship being renounced if they took the American citizenship oath. You might be able to talk to an immigration lawyerin that case, since maybe your relatives didn't know what they were saying (ex: didn't speak much English & got tricked). I might need to do something like that