Any Asian American males who found life better in Asia?

Discuss culture, living, traveling, relocating, dating or anything related to the Asian countries - China, The Philippines, Thailand, etc.
luoldeng9
Freshman Poster

Any Asian American males who found life better in Asia?

Post by luoldeng9 »

I am an Asian-American. Also, does anyone know how much harder it would be for me to obtain a technical-related job in Asia (ie Taiwan, Korea) vs America, considering that I have a BS degree in a technical field and have some programming skills in C++? I know very little Korean, no Mandarin, and can only speak English fluently. If its too hard for someone like who can only speak English then I would be content with an English teaching job
Last edited by luoldeng9 on July 6th, 2013, 11:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
zboy1
Elite Upper Class Poster

Post by zboy1 »

Welcome Luoldeng9. I'm also Korean American. There are some other Asian American posters on HA besides Winston, like Repatriate, Momopi, Maninsiam, and Falcon that have either moved abroad or have foreign girlfriends. You will find their posts to be very helpful. I am also in a similar situation such as yourself--having graduated with a bachelors degree in Business and have applied to several teaching jobs overseas. So far...I haven't received any confirmations--only telephone interviews and chats.

The recruiters have been telling me that so many Americans have been applying that there is currently a backlog for jobs. Being knowledgeable in a foreign language is not entirely necessary--though it can be helpful if you plan on living in or working in a foreign country.
Winston
Site Admin

Post by Winston »

Hi Luoldeng9,
Well me, Falcon and Repatriate are Happier Abroad Asians. See Falcon's trip reports in Mexico, and Repatriate's reports in Thailand by doing a search for their posts using the search box at the top.

Here is my story:
http://www.happierabroad.com/MyStory.htm