American Social Life for Men from Ukraine Perspective

Discuss culture, living, traveling, relocating, dating or anything related to Russia, Ukraine, or the former Soviet Republics.
ladislav
Elite Upper Class Poster

Post by ladislav »

When reading intercultural study books, the reference point is almost always America. For example, when one studies a foreign dating scene, the author is usually American or Western. They use their own culture as a measure to qualify and quantify the characteristics of the society they are describing.

What if I describe the American dating and social life for men from a unique, Ukrainian perspective? Let me try- because I am a resident of Ukraine. Thus, in comparison to Ukraine, this is what I see in the US as far as a single male life goes. If you use Ukraine as a reference point this is the description of it:

If you are an American patriot, please don’t read it.

1) In the USA, there are way more good looking young guys than good looking young gals. Anywhere and everywhere at all times. In some places, it’s more so, in some places it’s less so, but this reality remains constant.
2)
When one sees a beautiful blonde girl in a US movie, or as a singer on TV, she is really like one in a thousand. In Ukraine, they are like three in ten.

Such Slavic ladies as Ivanka or Melania are about number 6 and 5 in Ukraine. They are girls you see as cashiers and waitresses. In the US, you can go for months without seeing one like that. In Ukraine, you stand on the street corner, count to five and see a knock-out pass by.