Taiwan, the younger generation

Discuss culture, living, traveling, relocating, dating or anything related to the Asian countries - China, The Philippines, Thailand, etc.
El_Caudillo
Freshman Poster

Taiwan, the younger generation

Post by El_Caudillo »

Hi. I've read a lot of what Winston has written about Taiwan in the past and, while not agreeing with everything, found his thoughts quite interesting. I have only been in Taiwan for three months and have found many positives here - life is easier here than other places I've spend time in such as China, Indonesia, Argentina and Brazil. Basically things here are of first world standard and people are polite - that goes a long way. However, the thing that has struck me is the vast difference between young and old people. The old people seem, well, normal! I've been learning Mandarin off and on for fifteen years and can converse on most topics. The old people here are friendly, pretty well informed, in good shape and not shy to speak their minds. Many of them have traveled overseas, but also gone through tough times. I like taking to them, I can relate to them although we come from vastly different cultural backgrounds. I'm a thirty-eight year old white guy from New Zealand.