Guy from Finland: How to approach women in America?

Vent your rants and raves here about whatever makes you mad, angry or frustrated.
Falcon
Experienced Poster

Guy from Finland: How to approach women in America?

Post by Falcon »

Yet more evidence that Americans are an anomaly.

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index ... 229AA8l37I

How to approach women in America?

I'm new to the US, from Finland. Women seem to be different here in terms of dating. In Finland it's common for both the man and woman to approach one another for romantic dates. Usually in Finland I would approach but a lot of times, women have no problem with stepping up if they are interested in knowing you.

In the US, not so much. Women seem to be more introverted here. I've been here for close to 2 months and still no woman has approached me. I am considered attractive, good face, 2 meters tall, outgoing personae...I've talked to some women at work but I see women in the street Id like to talk to...

So I'd like to meet some women. But I don't want to come off too "socially incorrect", since I don't know the culture too well.

Usually I would just walk up to a woman I find attractive and say...

"Hi, my name is Erik, I saw you and I think you're attractive. May I get to know you some time..."

It would work but I talk to coworker and he says that this would come off "creepy" in America. I am not sure the meaning of this word though but it means something negative.

Response 1 (politically correct):
yeah don't go up to a total stranger and say you're attracted to them. that is weird. just if you are somewhere just say hey do you come here often? I'm kinda new to this place what would u recommend? (only if you're out in a place to eat or something) or compliment them on something like "hi, that's a really pretty shirt or bracelet" or whatever they have on. never say you find them attractive or that u like them.

Response 2: (non-PC):